Crossfit + Me

Throughout the past week, one important thing stands out. I tried Crossfit… and I have to say, I LOVED it! 

Now, a little background on this Crossfit. By now, it’s so popular that almost everyone has heard of it. i myself began to hate it (unfairly) because since last winter, both my brothers, my sister in law, my uncle, my cousins etc… have been taking part in the workout. That would be totally fine, except they can’t stop talking about it!! I spent all of last winter, listening to my brother and sister in law not only explaining all their workouts (which have crazy nicknames, so i didn’t even understand what they were talking about in the first place) but they would also SHOW me all of their workouts. This is really cute, for about 1 week. It then becomes rather irritating. So, i was totally against Crossfit. Probably also because of fear. i was totally afraid to try it. 

Then, last weekend, i went to watch my brothers in the famous Crossfit games, and totally understood why they were so crazy about it. i have very rarely seen such a fun, supportive, nice, energetic community of people. i wasn’t part of it, but I wanted to be. And, well- now I am. I decided then and there to give it a try. 

I am not an athlete, I am not in great shape, I have a lot of weight to lose.  I am stubborn, I am a hard worker, and above all, I am passionate and for these reasons I felt ready to try this new adventure. I showed up to Crossfit YUL and was immediately welcomed to the group (who doesn’t want to start a workout with high-fives from everyone?). I was honestly scared all day to go to this class, but I forced myself to get in the zone when i showed up. Mike, the owner, took amazing care of me, and scaled down the workouts, so that I was able to complete it. That’s the amazing thing about Crossfit, there are exceptional athletes in the class, as well as beginners and everything in between. However, the coaches scale it to everyone, so that the entire class is working together and everyone is pushing themselves within their own abilities. 

I did’t even realize how hard I was working. There was amazing music playing, it was fun, fast-paced- and I was instantly hooked. My legs failed me on the 3 stairs leaving the gym, and I could barely walk for 4 days. But I still went back for another class on Friday. I will continue to go back. I’M IN. And I can’t wait to see what comes of this. 

I’m definitely going to be “one of those people” now. I’m sorry, in advance. I can’t wait to share this journey with you all (whoever it is that reads this!). Looking forward to changing my life, and seeing Crossfit help me achieve my goal. 

I am already so thankful to my family for encouraging me to try it. For Mike, who I already know is going to be such an important part of this process, and for the Crossfit YUL community which I am now proud to be a part of. This is going to be fun…

Leave a Reply

